Hello fellow zobopians. I’ve been gathering my thoughts on this subject: panhandlers. Are we becoming a Nation of Panhandlers? Is the American economy that bad? I would think so when I walk/travel through my community in Chicago. It seems like everyone, (male and female; young and old), is constantly asking me for spare change. Walking down a lonely street or whatever, in some instance I’m the only one in sight, I’ll pass another pedestrian and I get asked if I have money to give to him. It just seems so casual-like. It makes me feel uneasy.

Most panhandlers are on busy street corners or standing/sitting in front of businesses to increase their chances of getting some hand-out. I encounter too many casual pedestrians just walking down the street, like me, asking for money in a way that comes off as to uncomfortable for me. Recently I was walking home and came across a store-front residence, where people live, and there was a guy standing in front of what I assume was a stair landing and he just ask me for spare change. In front of his home! Seriously, is this crappy economy this bad when citizens are panhandling in front of their home?

Now, lets pause. I don’t mind giving anybody my spare change to someone. It’s no big deal unless I really need the money for myself. (I’m not rich.)

I’m just beginning to sense a bad habit forming among people that comes off like a “third world” type of behavior. This is the USA for crying out loud! I’m not oblivious that America is in a Funk Economic Depression! If this country doesn’t get its economic affairs in order, this panhandling is going to become a bad habit. People need jobs & money so they won’t have to panhandle to every Tom, Dick & Harry.

I guess this ends my writers block. Until next time…

__________________________________
Yes! I said Funk Economic Depression. That’s not a mis-spelling of the F-word. We are in a Funk, you know that!

